Community Wishlist Survey 2022/Admins and patrollers/Remember previous deletion reason

Remember previous deletion reason

  • Problem: When deleting a large amount of pages for the same reason by hand, having to open the drop-down menu and select the same reason over and over again is cumbersome and error-prone, especially considering that the deletion reason cannot be changed.
  • Proposed solution: Instead of always defaulting to "Other reason", the reason selected by default should be the one used in the previous deletion. This feature could be made opt-in so that it first has to be activated in one's preferences. The text box under "Other/additional reason" should keep being filled out the same way as without this feature.
  • Who would benefit: Administrators.
  • More comments: This feature could be generalized in order to pertain to more actions (such as moves or protections). The benefit is however arguably lower for those.
  • Phabricator tickets:
  • Proposer: Fytcha (talk) 15:48, 22 January 2022 (UTC)

Discussion

  • For a recent example, see this manual mass-deletion of unidiomatic number terms. Fytcha (talk) 15:48, 22 January 2022 (UTC)
  • My way of doing this is as follows (if not just using something like Twinkle batch delete):
    1. Open all the pages you want to delete
    2. Tab through each page, clicking the delete link
    3. Tab through each page, copy-paste the deletion reason
  • --Izno (talk) 22:46, 22 January 2022 (UTC)
  • Not my problem. My web browser (Internet Explorer 11) automatically remembers 200 last reasons for deletion. And I like that. Taivo (talk) 18:57, 28 January 2022 (UTC)
    agreed but i think it shouldn't be automatically enabled; same as other futures it should be optional that can be enable/disable on preferences. 🌸 Sakura emad 💖 (talk) 10:24, 29 January 2022 (UTC)
  • What I'd do instead is allow the current deletion reason to be "locked in" somehow and then reuse that until the locking action is undone. I had a user script for that once, but it was quite crude and I have no idea if it still works. --Tgr (talk) 02:14, 30 January 2022 (UTC)
  • I would support this if it were an opt-in, but as stated it would be a permanent feature. I would only want it turned on if I was doing some kind of mass delete. For instance, when I delete a prod or a csd, the deletion reason is automatically copied from the proposal template. I would not want that to be overriden. SpinningSpark 11:59, 2 February 2022 (UTC)

Voting