Wikimedia Café

Wikimedia Café


Welcome!Edit

The Wikimedia Café provides a forum for voice and video discussion of issues of broad interest among Wikimedia community editors.

Every meeting starts with attendees briefly introducing themselves, any wiki affiliations they wish to share, their interest in attending this meeting, and sharing one thing for which they are grateful. This is a friendly meeting and attendees should practice good conduct.

Anyone can take notes about this meeting in the shared etherpad notes. The copyright license for these notes is compatible with Meta-wiki. These notes will go into Meta after the meeting. At every meeting the attendees review and confirm the notes from the last meeting.

The meeting is currently hosted by User:Pine and/or User:Bluerasberry using Zoom Video Communications software. Attendees should be aware that Zoom is a non-Wikimedia, non-free commercial product with limitations. The primary language of the meeting is English.

How to joinEdit

Note for June 2020. Updating to Zoom 5.0 or later is mandatory as of May 30, 2020. Please make sure that your version of Zoom has been updated.

Upcoming meetingsEdit

Saturday, 20 June 2020 at 9:30 AM Pacific time / 12:30 PM Eastern time / 4:30 PM UTC / 10 PM ISTEdit

  • Lack of gender diversity; reliability of statistics on gender diversity
  • Copyright
  • Introducing Wikimedia to newcomers
  • Wikidata
  • Brief recordings of statements
  • Housekeeping
  • There will be two Café sessions in July that are timed to accommodate diverse time zones. This is an experiment.

Sign upEdit

If you plan to attend then please sign here. The organizers can use this list to know who to contact individually if there are significant changes to the plan to the meeting, such as for the schedule.

  1. Vermont (talk) 15:48, 18 June 2020 (UTC)

SubpagesEdit