Community Wishlist Survey 2021/Editing/Allow editors to write an edit summary from the edit preview

Allow editors to write an edit summary from the edit preview

  • Problem: After making an edit, I view a preview of the newly edited page before I describe what I've changed. Then, in the preview, there is no place to describe what I've changed before publishing unless I go back, which is a bit clumsy.
  • Who would benefit: Page editors and trackers of changes
  • Proposed solution: Add a "Describe what you changed" text box to the top of the preview edit page next to "Publish changes" so that is is easily visible and easily accessed.
  • More comments:
  • Phabricator tickets:
  • Proposer: BenJenkins (talk) 16:40, 17 November 2020 (UTC)

Discussion

This would be useful, I like the idea. I've been keeping notes in a separate editor. A little notebook could even be there while we're editing: done with a chapter, enter changes, continue to the next one. Ponor (talk) 17:01, 17 November 2020 (UTC)

  • I'd even go one further: With the addition of this functionality, it would then become desirable if we could choose an alternative workflow: Preview First, Preview Always. (Perhaps selected via an editing preferences checkbox, like "Prompt me when entering a blank edit summary" or our old, departed friend "Mark all edits minor by default".)
With the option enabled, an edit could progress from the editor interface, directly to Preview (including edit-summary field), and finally submitting the edit directly from the Preview view — never even seeing the redundant, unnecessary "Save your changes" popup.
We're always reminding our fellow editors "WP:TWWPK", and admonishing new Wikipedians whose edits are reverted that they need to Use The Preview™[, Luke?] (There's even a dedicated user warning template for that exact purpose.) The ultimate adherence to that philosophy would be (optionally) telling the system that you want to always preview every edit, automatically, before the option to submit is even presented. -- FeRDNYC 03:13, 18 November 2020 (UTC)
Preview first is already an option though.... --Izno (talk) 05:23, 18 November 2020 (UTC)
@Izno: How so? "Show preview on first edit" is still a checkbox in the Editing preferences, but as far as I can tell it does nothing for either of the Visual Editor's modes. (Visual editing mode doesn't have a Preview at all, only Review, so I guess it's not really relevant to any of this.) But in the wikitext mode, even with the preference switched on "Publish changes..." still takes you to the "Save your changes" popup, and you have to manually hit "Show preview" to preview the edit. -- FeRDNYC (talk) 18:19, 19 November 2020 (UTC)
Well, you don't need a preview in VE. But okay, the context for your comment is good since it wasn't clear you were talking about 2017 WTE. :) --Izno (talk) 23:22, 19 November 2020 (UTC)
  • I can't tell if this is for VE or for WTE, but I'd take it for wikitext editor in a heartbeat! --Izno (talk) 05:21, 18 November 2020 (UTC)
    • The proposer uses the 2017 wikitext editor (VisualEditor's wikitext mode). Whatamidoing (WMF) (talk) 06:35, 18 November 2020 (UTC)
  • I have the "alert me if I don't use an edit summary" preference checked, and whenever I do this (which is pretty much every edit) it takes me back and tells me to put an edit summary in. Certainly not an airtight solution, and I would like to see your suggestion implemented. Ghinga7 (talk) 17:24, 19 November 2020 (UTC)
  • This is phab:T140451 and/or phab:T148297. ESanders (WMF) (talk) 15:56, 24 November 2020 (UTC)
  • Also, (temporary) Edit Summary should not be lost when switching between Visual Editor & Source Editor. RavBol (talk) 22:49, 14 December 2020 (UTC)

I've just lost another Edit Summary after switching between Visual Editor & Source Editor on mobile, again...! RavBol (talk) 23:46, 4 April 2021 (UTC)

  • Huh? Is this specific to the mobile version, or VisualEditor, or ...? I don't have this problem. I load the page to edit, and I already have an "Edit summary:" line. I click "Show preview", and I now have a preview, and the edit window again, and the "Edit summary:" line again. There is no need to go back.  — SMcCandlish ¢ >ʌⱷ҅ʌ<  06:46, 15 December 2020 (UTC)

Voting