WelcomeEdit

This is where I share my observations and key notes on contributing to Wikimedia projects. Please feel free to engage too.

Global user page merge complicationEdit

ProblemEdit

Note. Feedback captured for the attention of Meta admins or bureaucrats

I first created an account on en:Wikipedia where I had also started to create a local user:page. Within the first 24 hours of creation of the account, I migrated my account to Global user pages and found about Synchbot, the purpose of which is to delete local user:pages on sister projects post-merge.

The relative freshness of the account must have contributed to the action being flagged as "harmful". The following first warning was displayed:

Editing Synchbot (section)
Error:
Your action has triggered the Abuse Filter	Warning: This action has been automatically identified as harmful. Unconstructive edits will be quickly reverted, and may result in your account or IP address being blocked from editing. If this action is constructive, you may submit it again, and report this error. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

After having tried again, a second warning got raised:

Errors:
This action has been automatically identified as harmful, and it has been disallowed.
In addition, as a security measure, some privileges routinely granted to established accounts have been temporarily revoked from your account. A brief description of the abuse rule which your action matched is: telephone number support (with number formula)
This action has been automatically identified as harmful, and you have been prevented from executing it. In addition, to protect Meta, your user account and all associated IP addresses have been blocked from editing. If this has occurred in error, please contact an administrator. A brief description of the abuse rule which your action matched is: telephone number support (with number formula)

This resulted in an unpleasant automatic block log banner displayed on my edits for some time:

This user is currently blocked. The latest block log entry is provided below for reference:
[2021-07-31T14:24:20|Special:Log&logid=42242440] Abuse filter talk contribs blocked Script.meta talk contribs with an expiration time of 2 hours (account creation disabled) (Automatically blocked by the abuse filter. Rule matched: «telephone number support (with number formula)»)

At least, I could post this. Now, let us do something else for two hours then.

Corrective actionEdit

Deleting your user page or subpages, [via]

You can freely blank any pages in your user space yourself (other than the few items that must not be removed) and request the deletion of your user page or subpages, by adding {{db-user}} to the top of the page. Alternatively, you might consider simply making the page redirect to your user page. This is normally sufficient for most people's needs. Subpages tagged for deletion will be deleted if there is no overriding reason the page must be kept.

Blanking of user subpages is not interpreted as a deletion request, see criteria for speedy deletion. If you want it deleted completely then use {{db-user}}.