Community Wishlist Survey 2022/Multimedia and Commons/PDF preview image upload

PDF preview image upload

  • Problem: Uploading a single PDF page image as a standalone image is too time consuming
  • Proposed solution: A tool that will upload a PDF preview image from Commons with relevant metadata, as a Commons image file, to save having to download it locally and re-upload it, and having to manually enter the metadata entry?
  • Who would benefit: Anyone wishing to add an image of a single page from a PDF to a project.
  • More comments: Example images
  • Phabricator tickets:
  • Proposer: Andy Mabbett (Pigsonthewing); Talk to Andy; Andy's edits 13:11, 15 January 2022 (UTC)

Discussion

  • @Pigsonthewing: I'm not sure I follow. You mean, in order to use just one page as an image? Can't the page=x parameter be used for that, e.g.: [[File:Ettelaat13420926.pdf|page=1|200px]]
     
    Sorry if I'm missing the obvious! :-) SWilson (WMF) (talk) 14:20, 17 January 2022 (UTC)
    • I wasn't aware of that (it's a neat trick, thank you), so I doubt most re-users are. But how can that parameter be passed to, say, the crop tool? Or the image downloaded at full resolution? Or individually categorised? Or used as an image in Wikidata? Andy Mabbett (Pigsonthewing); Talk to Andy; Andy's edits 16:36, 17 January 2022 (UTC)
      @Pigsonthewing: Good points! The crop tool already supports cropping images from within pages in PDFs, e.g.. For downloading full-res single-page images, the thumbnail links under the image on Commons work, but it seems that links such as [[Media:Ettelaat13420926.pdf|page=1]] do not (and I can't find a phab task for that). To individually categorize a single page, it will as you say have to be uploaded as a separate file, but perhaps the crop tool is the easiest way to do that — often a crop or other modification would be wanted anyway, I think. The same applies for Wikidata images. SWilson (WMF) (talk) 06:47, 18 January 2022 (UTC)
      BTW. page= is described/documented in Wikipedia:Extended_image_syntax and Help:Images. But I do agree that discoverability could be improved, and for instance sometime like the VisualEditor does not support this image option, which is genuinely a shame. I have created phab:T301161 to request adding this as a feature. —TheDJ (talkcontribs) 17:41, 7 February 2022 (UTC)
    [[File:Ettelaat13420926.pdf|page=1|200px]] Works for wiki, but how to store this page in Wikidata image (P18) ? JAn Dudík (talk) 07:05, 19 January 2022 (UTC)
    it's hard for doing that. We can use this as a property for page number, but... Thingofme (talk) 12:35, 19 January 2022 (UTC)
    @JAn Dudík and Thingofme: Yes, it'll need to be uploaded as a separate file. That's why I'm wondering if the crop tool workaround is sufficient for this use case, because that tool already handles copying over the metadata etc. and it's just a matter of cropping to the full page. But anyway, I'll mark this for translation and it can proceed to voting (after the 28th). SWilson (WMF) (talk) 06:33, 20 January 2022 (UTC)
    You can try to add a page number as a qualifier (using page(s) (P304)), but (1) Wikidata doesn't know how to show you the image for the selected page(s), and (2) this triggers a validation error, since P304 is not expected to be a qualifier for image (P18). Gaurav (talk) 07:08, 11 February 2022 (UTC)

Voting

  •   Support JPxG (talk) 00:54, 31 January 2022 (UTC)
  •   Support but we have to improve the Wikidata page-number, same to my comments. Thingofme (talk) 09:52, 1 February 2022 (UTC)
  •   Support - Darwin Ahoy! 00:58, 5 February 2022 (UTC)
  •   Support Ayumu Ozaki (talk) 08:43, 6 February 2022 (UTC)
  •   Support --Ciao • Bestoernesto 16:55, 6 February 2022 (UTC)
  •   Support Marcok (talk) 08:05, 10 February 2022 (UTC)