Problem: When browsing Wikipedia with Firefox in private mode, the same site notices pop up again in each new session after logging in, presumably because dismissing site notice(s) is recorded in (a) cookie(s) that get discarded after closing Firefox. This also happens when using multiple browsers or devices.
Who would benefit: Registered users using session cookies and/or multiple browsers or devices.
Proposed solution: Record the dismissal of a site notice on the server as part of the user data so that this information is preserved between sessions and identical in multiple browsers and devices.
Ah, I missed you specifying private mode. Anomie (talk) 14:32, 20 November 2017 (UTC)
Storing the dismissal as part of user data would be useful even to those of us who don't use private mode. I view Wikipedia on a dozen browsers spread across nearly as many devices, and playing whack-a-banner gets tiring after a while. --Carnildo (talk) 23:31, 28 November 2017 (UTC)
Support I recently don’t dismiss site notices, because dismissing them on every single device/browser I use takes too much effort, and they come back if I delete cookies. Tacsipacsi (talk) 17:46, 3 December 2017 (UTC)