Open main menu
Jan-Bart de Vreede
Jan-Bart de Vreede
AdvisorĀ :), Wikimedia Foundation

About me

As of 2016, I am a 46 year old married man from the Netherlands, father of two sons and daughter (Ruben (14), Matthias (11) and Anna (6)). I am married to Sandra and live in Gouda.

Most of my childhood was spent in the Netherlands. But I also spent 6 years in SriĀ Lanka, the Maldives, Kenya and the United States during my teenage years. I studied Business Administration at the Rotterdam School of Management.

Jan-Bart's voice
(help | download | file info)

My work

I work at the Kennisnet Foundation who allow me to spend a certain amount of time on promoting the use of wikis and Wikimedia projects in education (amongst other things). The Kennisnet Foundation is a public Dutch organisation which is publicly funded and has the goal to be "THE dutch organisation for ICT use in Education". Apart from being responsible for our "consumer" services I am very involved in the Wikiwijs project which aims to encourage Dutch teachers to develop and share Open Educational Resources.

Through my work at Kennisnet I have been involved with Wikimedia since February 2005. I have attended all the past Wikimania conferences (giving talks on the educational uses of Wiki(pedia)).

On December 15th, 2006, I became part of the Board of Trustees of the Wikimedia Foundation as an appointed member. After several years as a vice-chair I became the chair from 2013 until 2015. I departed the board in December 2015 after 9 years as a board member. At some point I intend to reflect on my time as a board member of this wonderful movement... if only I could find the time!


Disclaimer: I work for or provide services to the Wikimedia Foundation, and this is the account I try to use for edits or statements I make in that role. However, the Foundation does not vet all my activity, so edits, statements, or other contributions made by this account may not reflect the views of the Foundation.

Contact me

e-mail me, my Talk page