Wikimedia Canada/Meetings/2009-02-11

Organization Meeting of Wikimedia Canada
Ninth Formal Formation Meeting

Date: Wednesday, February 11, 2009
Time: 02:00 UTC (6:00 PST, 7:00 MST, 8:00 CST, 9:00 EST, 10:00 AST, 10:30 NST)
Venue: Skype. Arctic.gnome will invite all interested persons to both a voice and a chat conversation. Anyone without a microphone should be able to listen to the conversation and make comments in the chat.

AgendaEdit

  1. Introductions
  2. Discussion of Wikimedia Canada/Todo, questions and comments.
  3. Discussion of Wikimedia Canada/Proposed by-laws, questions and comments.
  4. Discussion of Wikimedia Canada/Draft application, questions and comments.
  5. Discussion of who will be on the initial application and who's address will be used as the legal address for the organization.

MinutesEdit

In progress.

AttendanceEdit

GeneralEdit

  • Each person introduced themselves briefly.
  • Went through the to do list

Bylaw discussionEdit

  • Steve S. volunteered to do NUANS name search report to confirm that the name "Wikimedia Canada" is not taken
  • Ken G. proposed to have at least an annual general meeting for members
  • Jeffrey N. seconded and suggested to have monthly meetings for directors.
  • The frequency of general meeting would need to be included in the general member.
  • Once the bylaw is completed, the people who sign the document become the first board of directors.
  • At least four people are required to sign on the document per federal and Wikimedia Foundation rules.
  • The issue of mailing address would be addressed in future meeting(s).
  • Participants in the meeting unanimously approved the motion of editing and marking all changes to the by law in red. Afterwards, the bylaw will be reviewed line by line.
  • After the final version of bylaw is completed, the committee will send it to a lawyer for comments.
  • Steve S. identified himself as a law student as Gerald said he could get a lawyer to take a look at it.

Financial issuesEdit

  • Gerald suggested we could try ask Wikimedia Foundation to do something with the incorporation cost.
  • Andrew L. explained the difference between non-profit and charity organizations. Only charity organizations are eligible to issue tax-receipt.
  • Membership fees to be discussed later.
  • $200 filing fee is required for incorporation, in addition to $15 for NUANS.
  • Document signing must be done in front of a witness, who should be a notary public or a lawyer.
  • Brian C. found the least expensive notary public charges $15 for witnessing of signature ($10 for each additional signatures witnessed).
  • Jeffrey N. said we should get a bank account and Paypal account to handle membership fees.

TimelineEdit

  • Brian C. proposed to finish the bylaw by March 18, 2009.
  • Participants unanimously agreed with Brian's proposal.

Meeting time & frequencyEdit

  • Andrew L. proposed to push the meeting time an hour early so that participants from east coast do not have to stay up late for the meeting.
  • Participants unanimously agreed with Andrew's proposal.
  • The next meeting date will be announced on the mailing list.

Participants' Sign-UpEdit

Real name Username IRC/
Teamspeak/
Skype nickname
Location Notes
Attending
Jeffery Nichols Arctic.gnome Skype: arctic.gnome
IRC: ArcticGnome
St. John's, NL
Steve Smith Sarcasticidealist Skype: sarcasticidealist Fredericton, NB
Gerald A historybuff irc: hotr Toronto, ON
Brian Chick LeftButton Skype: brian.chick Toronto, ON
Ken Goudsward Ken Goudsward Skype: KenGoudsward Prince George, BC
Benoit Desrochers Antaya Skype: antaya.le.pouceux Montréal, QC
Andrew Leung OhanaUnited Skype: Andrew.C.Leung Richmond Hill, ON
Possibly attending
Casey Brown Cbrown1023 IRC: kibble
Skype: cbrown1023
Philadelphia, USA
Alex Az1568 Az1568 (IRC)
az1658 (Skype)
California, USA
Wayne Ray WayneRay Skype: waynescottray London, ON
Not attending, but interested
Jean-François Lepage JF Lepage irc: JeffdeStGermain Rimouski, QC
Ian Bailey Ian_Bailey irc: yanstheman Toronto, ON
Previous meeting:
May 21, 2008
WMC Ninth Formal Formation Meeting
February 11, 2009
Next meeting:
June 18, 2009