Public policy/Conversation hours and Events

 Home About Resources Conversation Hours and Events Announcements Work With Us 


Conversation Hours and Events


Monthly Conversation HoursEdit

The Global Advocacy team hosts conversation hours at the end of every month (see below for exact date and time), which you can join via video call.

The purpose of these conversation hours is to create a dedicated space for the Foundation's Global Advocacy team to engage directly with Wikimedia volunteers, affiliates, and staff. These forums are an opportunity for us to answer questions about how the Foundation pursues advocacy work, or about your own projects and initiatives, and to connect, share, and learn from each other in a consistent manner.

Come and talk to us! Ask us anything, or tell us anything, related to public policy and advocacy initiatives for free knowledge online. For example:

  • You want to learn more about how the Foundation pursues advocacy work alongside other teams, as well as ongoing and current initiatives
  • You would like to share a policy development or advocacy campaign idea and would like to get feedback or support
  • You have questions about a specific WMF policy priority or development

This is the first time our team has hosted consistent conversation hours. The current format is an experiment in order to facilitate more direct interaction. We would be glad to hear your feedback and/or comments on the talk-page.

How it worksEdit

Platform: Our calls are videochats via the Zoom platform. Anyone can join.

Recording/Resources: Our calls are recorded as of August, due to participant requests. Recordings of the call and slide decks used during the presentations will be uploaded to the "Log of Previous Conversation Hours" section at the bottom of this page.

Time: We will have two calls to accommodate timezones (Asia-Pacific friendly time and Europe-Africa-Americas friendly time).

Structure: We will have at least 2 members from the Global Advocacy team be present at each office hour for discussion. Most calls start with 20-30 minutes dedicated to a certain topic, often with a guest speaker, and then we turn it over for Q&A from the community. The second portion of the call does not have to relate to the topic discussed in the first half of the call. Talk to us about whatever you want!

We collect your topics to discuss in the etherpad linked below.

Upcoming Conversation HoursEdit

August 27, Asia-Pacific Friendly time: 08:00–09:00 UTC (15:00–16:00 Bangkok, Jakarta / 16:00–17:00 Singapore / 13:30–14:30 New Delhi / 18:00-19:00 Melbourne / 20:00-21:00 Auckland)
Meeting link (Zoom): https://wikimedia.zoom.us/j/87829549529
Agenda: Add items to the agenda in this etherpad

  • Community approaches to Copyright advocacy, Ft. Dimitar Dimitrov, EU Policy Director @ Free Knowledge Advocacy Group EU and Amanda Lawrence, President of Wikimedia Australia
  • ...
  • ...
  • ...

August 26, Europe-Africa-Americas friendly time: 14-15:00 UTC (9-10:00 Bogota / 10-11:00 EDT / 14-15:00 Accra, GMT / 16-17:00 Vienna, CEST)
Meeting link (Zoom): https://wikimedia.zoom.us/j/89841545440
Agenda: Add items to the agenda in this etherpad

  • Community approaches to Copyright advocacy, Ft. Dimitar Dimitrov, EU Policy Director @ Free Knowledge Advocacy Group EU
  • ...
  • ...

Log of Previous Conversation HoursEdit

Notes from all calls can be found in the etherpad.

  • July 28 (EXTENDED time) (17:00-18:30 UTC). Topics: 1) Wikimedia's Approach to Anti-Disinformation; 2) Human Rights Impact Assessment. See slide deck.
  • July 28 (12:00 UTC). Topic: Human Rights Impact Assessment. See slide deck.
  • June 29. Topic: Disinformation

Other Upcoming EventsEdit

1. Human Rights Policy Community Engagement (May-August 2022): We are planning a mix of community and staff engagements around the Human Rights Policy, such as regional community town halls, Country-specific focus groups, and thematic deep dives. The goal is to learn from Wikimedians' experiences and to receive feedback and recommendations from the community and staff as to how the Human Rights Policy can be best implemented in order to support their work.

2. RightsCon 2022 (June 6-11 2022): Register and attend our sessions! Registration is free, and open to all until June 3.

3. Wikimania 2022 (August 11-14 2022): Join us! Learn more here.


Follow us on Twitter for updates about webinars, conferences, or talks from our team.