Open main menu

Community Wishlist Survey 2019/Editing/Warn of other revisions saved during edit-preview

< Community Wishlist Survey 2019‎ | Editing

 ◄ Back to Editing  The survey has concluded. Here are the results!


  • Problem: When editing in wikitext editor, the saving of other, intermediate revisions should be warned during each edit-preview, in case user intends further extensive edits after an edit-preview. Perhaps list:
    • Other user(s) saved 2 revisions
    • Last revision time: 18:03, 10 November 2018 (UTC)
    • Recent revision count: +17 in past week
Those revision stats could be shown at top of edit-preview, above the edit-intro text.
  • Who would benefit: People who edit hot-topic pages could be spared major en:wp:edit-conflicts, when hoping other users aren't as busy, on the same page, to cause further edit-conflicts. The warned user could decide to save-page soon, or postpone further edits until a quieter time period. I have abandoned many, many 1-hour edits after seeing another editor had changed 15 paragraphs, as 3 revisions, in the same spots I was trying to revise. I really don't want to force-save my revision to edit-conflict another user's ongoing work, so just warn in edit-preview how 3 other revisions have been saved since I began this edit-session of the page.
  • Proposed solution: Focus on major, valuable improvements to the most-used wikitext editor, as improvements which could help thousands of editors per day.
  • More comments:
  • Phabricator tickets:
  • Proposer: Wikid77 (talk) 18:03, 10 November 2018 (UTC)

DiscussionEdit

  • I like the idea. Although I usually get edit-conflicted by a bot dating my tags, so maybe I just need a setting to make Anomiebot wait. HLHJ (talk) 07:52, 14 November 2018 (UTC)
  • @Wikid77, a script for warning an editor of changes done to a page while editing (or eve reading) a page was written in the Hebrew Wikipedia by 1Or, i"m sure it wouldn't be a challenge to translate the variables and make them understood to non-hebrew speakers (i myself have it on all wikis). I suppose it can be used as a base for other upgrades if needed. melo kol (talk) 20:33, 24 November 2018 (UTC)
  • I like this, but I think a better solution is a warning for other editors that someone started editing the page (or section) in the last ¿5? minutes but has not finished (much as happens on Sensei’s Library. (I don’t know if concurrent edits to different sections cause conflicts.) PJTraill (talk) 23:35, 26 November 2018 (UTC)

VotingEdit

  •   Support --John Cline (talk) 00:34, 17 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Liuxinyu970226 (talk) 04:44, 17 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Libcub (talk) 10:39, 17 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Atsme📞📧 16:04, 17 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Dcheney (talk) 16:37, 17 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   SupportThanks for the fish! talkcontribs 20:07, 17 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support But do ignore editors/previews left open "too long" -- often days :D Wikicat (talk) 21:32, 17 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Tortliena (talk) 21:48, 17 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Keith D (talk) 23:10, 17 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Darwinek (talk) 01:49, 18 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Wunkt2 (talk) 04:16, 18 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support HLHJ (talk) 06:26, 18 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support NMaia (talk) 10:24, 18 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Arbeite19 (talk) 11:00, 18 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support — Draceane talkcontrib. 18:02, 18 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Sacamol (talk) 08:52, 19 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support I would like to know while editing if other edits have been saved. And on Wikidata I would like to know if edits have been saved while looking at the page. ·addshore· talk to me! 10:03, 19 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Sammyday (talk) 10:17, 19 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Ahecht (TALK
    PAGE
    ) 16:30, 19 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support StringRay (talk) 22:04, 19 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Lord van Tasm (talk) 13:51, 20 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Terra  (talk) 16:00, 20 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Novak Watchmen (talk) 00:43, 21 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support This could be a strategy of "edit conflict". RIT RAJARSHI (talk) 19:19, 21 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Edoli (talk) 10:36, 22 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support No such user (talk) 19:05, 22 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Satdeep Gill (talk) 05:48, 23 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support MisterSynergy (talk) 10:32, 23 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support NaBUru38 (talk) 18:33, 23 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Sannita - not just another it.wiki sysop 00:42, 24 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Hmxhmx 11:00, 24 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support ~ Seb35 [^_^] 22:39, 24 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support BrownHairedGirl (talk) 01:29, 25 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Arne (Amjaabc) (talk) 08:50, 25 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support IKhitron (talk) 19:30, 25 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Tantusar (talk) 00:44, 26 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support — AfroThundr (u · t · c) 02:20, 26 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support AkRaM (talk) 20:33, 26 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Though I think a warning for other editors that someone started editing the page in the last ¿5? minutes is better. PJTraill (talk) 23:30, 26 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Vulphere 01:34, 27 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support YFdyh000 (talk) 17:15, 27 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support I lost a lot of work because of edit conflicts Minoo (talk) 20:20, 27 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Netanel488 (talk) 01:41, 29 November 2018 (UTC)
  •   Support Alvarosinde (talk) 16:43, 29 November 2018 (UTC)